Continuing Legal Education

Active attorneys and attorneys registered for corporate status must complete 24 hours of accredited CLE activities every two years. Fulltime, part-time, and retired judges must complete 40 hours of accredited CLE activities. Magistrates and acting judges must complete 24 hours of accredited CLE activities every two years. Judges, acting judges, and magistrates also have a Judicial College requirement. CLE requirements are contained in Gov. Bar R. X and Gov. Jud. R. IV and are administered by the Commission on Continuing Legal Education and the Office of Attorney Services.


Announcements and updates regarding COVID-19 and continuing legal education can be found here. Please check back for updates.

FAQ re: CLE Credit for attending training and serving as a poll worker

Late Compliance Deadline Extended
In response to the Coronavirus/COVID-19 pandemic, the Commission has extended the late compliance deadline for the 2018-2019 compliance period to June 29, 2020, for attorneys and judges to cure their CLE hour deficiencies for the compliance period ending Dec. 31, 2019.

  • Deadline to complete all hours is extended to June 29, 2020;
  • Waiver of the self-study cap for the 2018/2019 Late Compliance period (Jan. 1 -June 29, 2020) only;
  • Late Compliance Form with fee to be postmarked no later than July 31, 2020;
  • Late Compliance Form may be sent by email no later than 11:59 p.m. EDT on July 31, 2020, to and payment made by credit card.

Late compliance notice for those with a new lawyers training requirement only

  • Deadline to complete all New Lawyers Training hours is extended to Sept. 10, 2020 (CLE Reg. 503.4);
  • All NLT can be completed by live webcasts;
  • Late Compliance Form with $300 late fee to be emailed no later than 11:59 p.m. EDT on Sept. 17, 2020, to and payment made by credit card;
  • Failure to complete NLT requirements will result in the suspension from the practice of law in Ohio.

In re Waiver of the Self-Study Cap for Judges, Magistrates, and Attorneys in the 2019/2020 Compliance Period, and Waiver of Application Fees for COVID-19 Related Continuing Legal Education Programs

The Supreme Court of Ohio has waived the self-study caps for judges, magistrates, and attorneys to complete the CLE requirements for the 2019-2020 compliance period ending Dec. 31, 2020. Judges, magistrates and attorneys with the last names beginning with M-Z may complete all CLE requirements through approved self-study courses, including live interactive webinars, for the compliance period ending Dec. 31, 2020.

Notice Late Compliance Deadline Exended

Notice Permitting Electronic Submission of Applications for CLE Accreditation on Temporary Basis

Instructions for Sponsors Emailing CLE Applications

March 17 Notice to Attorneys and Judges

Request a Password


How to Earn CLE Credit for Pro Bono Service

Reinstatement Instructions and Forms

Find an Approved CLE/New Attorney Activity

Find Approved Self-Study Activities


Late Compliance

General Attorney and Sponsor Fees


Information for Sponsors

CLE Rules

Adobe PDF PDF files may be viewed, printed, and searched using the free Acrobat® Reader
Acrobat Reader is a trademark of Adobe Systems Incorporated.
Microsoft Word Word files may be viewed for free with Office Online.