OHIO CRIMINAL SENTENCING COMMISSION

65 South Front Street · Fifth Floor · Columbus · 43215 · Telephone: (614) 387-9305 · Fax: (614) 387-9309

Chief Justice Maureen O'Connor Chair Sara Andrews Director

February 19, 2015 Ohio Criminal Sentencing Commission

Director's Report

I. Membership Update:

Review Draft Roster

II. Reports/Quick Reference Guides

OJC, Library and PIO Draft Review - including retired Judges

III. Supreme Court Support:

Library - record retention, archiving, research

Public Information - website, OG TV, publications, logo-branding

IV. Notable Meetings, Collaboration and Opportunities

Task Force on Community-Police Relations

OJC - Legislative Committee, Criminal Law & Procedure Committee, Municipal Court & DRC meeting

Heroin Partnership Project interview - Ross County and Circleville Municipal

OJACC

DRC JRI and future funding model

Channel 4 interview – update and info from Columbus City Attorney's Office, Director Prosecution Resources Unit, Robert Tobias. Update at April meeting.

Legislative Meetings:

House Minority Leader Strahorn 02-02-15 (with Judge Marcelain) Senator Eklund 02-02 (with Judge Marcelain) Representative Butler 02-03 (with Judge Marcelain) Senator Seitz 02-05 Scott Lundgren on behalf of Speaker Rosenberger 02-09 Senate Minortity Leader Schiavoni 02-11 Senate Criminal Justice Committee (thanks of OJC) 02-11 Representative Cupp 02-12 Senator Thomas 02-17 Senator Williams (grand jury) 02-17 Senator Bacon 02-17 **Representative Manning 02-17** House Judiciary Committee meeting 02-17 **Director Plouck 02-18** Senator Hughes (aide) 02-18 Senate Criminal Justice Committee - presentation 02-18 Frank Strigari - Senate Chief Legal Counsel 02-19

Upcoming Meetings and/or awaiting date confirmation:

Senator Bacon 03-03-15 Senator Faber Senator Obhof Senator Lehner Senator Ueker Senator Skindell Representative Greta Johnson Representative Stinziano Representative Antani Representative Conditt Representative Celebrezze Representative Dever Representative Dever Representative McColley Representative Rezabek Representative Sykes